Sunday, July 16, 2006

Day at the Fights

My wife and I had a nasty (at least for us) argument yesterday. We were out at the local supermarket doing the weekly grocery shopping and we came upon the water/soft drink aisle. My wife wanted to buy a few packs of bottled water and I wanted to voice my objections to bottled water to her. My objections stem from the fact that bottled water is no better than water from the tap (quite often, tap water is BETTER) in my area. I would not have stopped her from getting the water bottles but I wanted to remind her how I feel.

Now, I have to digress here. My wife, you see, is employed by the local municipal government as a Parking Enforcement Officer (a meter maid) and she walks the main streets of our town writing parking tickets 8 hours a day in all kinds of weather. And with the heat of summer at it's most sever lately, she is very sensitive to not having enough water. Oh, one other thing, for some weird reason, my wife does not like to drink tap water.

I guess she took my initial half joking comments seriously and exploded at me without letting me finish what I wanted to tell her. I just clammed up and I stood there with the cart as she walked away saying, "Fine, I won't buy any water then." I continued to stand there until she turned around at the end of the aisle yelling at me to "Come on, I don't need water." I waited a few more moments and then slowly pushed the cart up the aisle towards her.

She went on and on through out the rest of our grocery shopping while I refused to speak to her or just answered yes or no to questions. She even through stuff in the shopping cart, almost hitting me in the head once. When we got to check out I bagged while she unloaded and scanned our selections (we shop at an A&P that has self checkout). She would slam or throw the items onto the conveyor belt after she scanned them.

After we finished and she paid the bill, I began to push the cart towards the exit thinking she was behind me. In actuality, she was miffed that I did not take the receipt and handed it to our son who handed it to me. He and I headed for the door and as I reached it I realized she had gone out the other direction and was not with us.

I loaded the bags into the car and my son and I got in. After a few minutes I realized that she had left us there and walked home. So I started up the car and headed home.

After we got there and started to unload the car she walked up and mumbled something or other about why she walked home. I ignored her and my son and I carried the bags up to our kitchen. That's when the real fireworks started.

We argued for a good twenty minutes about the stupid water. All I wanted was her recognition that she was wrong to not listen to what I had to say. I fully admitted that she could have bought whatever water she wanted.

She eventually got to the point of insulting me and my family which is an indicator that she is very mad but running out of things to argue about. I had had enough at this point and screamed at her that she was just like her mother (definitely true by the way but when your husband says that it's bad). She then said "Why don't you leave and go live with your mother?" That's the last thing a wife should ever say to her husband by the way.

Next she started criticizing the fact that I was taking our son to a Yankees game that day. Now, I got the tickets for nothing from a friend and had planned to take the subway to the game so as to leave the car home for her. She harped that I should "go ahead and take the car, that's what you really want". That was never on my mind. It aggravated me so much that I took the tickets out from my wallet and said, "You know what, we'll stay home" and I went to tear the tickets up. She ran over to me and held my hands from tearing them up (I really would have, too). I shoved her away from me and she accused me of hitting her. Now, in the 11 years we have been together I have never, ever raised my hands to her. Not that I want a prize for it or anything, it's just not right for a man to hit a woman in my book. This is despite the fact that over the time we've been together she's hit me at least twice.

At this point the worst of the fight was over and she went in the living room and I stayed in the kitchen. She continued to throw out an occasional comment towards me and then dropped the A-Bomb of marital fights - "Maybe we should get a divorce". I can't stand this kind of comment and I had enough of the whole thing and went down to the car to get some peace and quiet. (I also had to bring up a couple of cases of Pepsi from the shopping trip.)

After 10 minutes or so, I got out of the car to get the cases and just then she came out of the house in tears and apologizing. I was still pissed off and I just ignored her and went back up to the house.

Eventually, I got our son ready to go to the game and checked the bus schedule so that we could catch the bus that runs right in front of our house to the train. The wife was originally going to give us a ride to the Path train and we would be on our own from there. I was pissed off enough that I did not even want to take the ride from her. I called for our son to tell him it was time to go and she said "Let me lock up and I'll meet you at the car." I told her "Nevermind, we'll take the bus." She tried arguing and I just took my son's hand and walked out towards the bus stop a block away. She followed us and then got in the car and pulled up by the bus stop and pleaded with me to get in the car, there was no way I was getting in that car. The bus came in a couple of minutes and we got on and headed for our day out.

As a side story here, part of the fun of going to an event in New York is the travel to it. The New York area is one big street theater and I never seem to tire of it. My son has not experienced it nearly enough and the trip to the "big ballpark in the Bronx" Saturday was an excellent opportunity for him to get some of that experience.

We really had fun on the trip and although it was very hot at the game it was a wonderfull day. We had a few hot dogs, some sodas and Dippin' Dots(TM). If you have never had Dippin' Dots(TM), they are little dots (about the 1/8 of an inch in size) of ice cream frozen hard. They serve it in little plastic baseball caps. My son was really looking forward to the Dippin' Dots(TM) as I don't think we can get them anywhere else in our area.

The Yankees won big and we had a great time. After the ride back on the subway and Path trains we realized that we had just missed a bus (the next one was scheduled in a half hour) so we had to call my wife to pick us up. As I picked up my phone, I noticed that she had texted me 4 times and called twice (most likely while I was on the train under ground and could not receive them). I called and she got there in about 20 minutes.

I barely talked with her the rest of the night.

I am still angry but I am talking more to her.

Needless to say no sex for awhile for us.

4 Comments:

At July 19, 2006 9:44 AM, Blogger Madame X said...

YOu do realize that this wasn't about the water, right?
I am not sure what it was about but it wasn't just about water.

I hopw things are better today.

 
At July 19, 2006 1:02 PM, Blogger section306g said...

I know what you mean but if it wasn't the water, I can't imagine what it was about.

Things are better today and I'm thinking of putting the moves on her tonight - we'll see how she reacts.

 
At July 19, 2006 6:02 PM, Blogger Leigh said...

I hate those kinds of days, they are very exhausting. I hope things are getting better for the two of you. With time I am sure the two of you will have a good laugh over this.

 
At July 19, 2006 9:47 PM, Blogger section306g said...

Leigh - Yeah, those kinds of days suck. Things are better, thanks!

 

Post a Comment

<< Home